Tuesday, January 8, 2013

NO SAFE HARBOR Edge of Freedom-Book One by Elizabeth Ludwig

Book Description:  Lured by a handful of scribbled words across a faded letter, Cara Hamilton sets off from 1896 Ireland on a quest to find the brother she'd thought dead. Her search lands her in America, amidst a houseful of strangers and one man who claims to be a friend--Rourke Walsh.

Despite her brother's warning, Cara decides to trust Rourke and reveals the truth about her purpose in America. But he is not who he claims to be, and as rumors begin to circulate about an underground group of dangerous revolutionaries, Cara's desperation grows. Her questions lead her ever closer to her brother, but they also bring her closer to destruction as Rourke's true intentions come to light.

My Thoughts:  Do you ever pick a book just because of the title?  Well, I don't usually but the title of this read by Elizabeth Ludwig caught my attention!  No Safe Harbor {the subtitle is what did it!} Edge of Freedom!
The words Edge of Freedom struck a chord in my reader's mind eye and I visualized a person on the edge of a decision, seeking that soul cleansing freedom.
Now, I wasn't too far off!  Cara Hamilton thinks her twin brother, Eoghan, is dead but a letter, a precious scrap of paper tells her that he is alive an in America!
So, off Cara goes.  For two long years she has endured the villager's whispered words that brought shame to her family name.  But now Cara was going to uncover the truth behind Eoghan's disappearance.  
This is how the story begins...Cara at Ellis Island about to embark on a journey . . . 
This journey includes quite a cast of characters but a few that caught my attention were Rourke, always there to save the day for Cara.  Hugh, mean as an ole' alley cat!  Tillie, tough as old leather.  Deidre, spiteful and jealous of Cara.  Now, these are my perceptions of the characters.  
Now from the beginning Rourke had my attention.  Maybe it's the way he is always there for Cara.
Anyway, this is quite a story!  It's full of history and intrigue! And Romance!  Just when you think you know what is going to happen a twist is given and one must read on to the next chapter to find out what is going on.  What a grand a read!
*This book was provided for review by Bethany House Publishers*
Meet the Author: 

Elizabeth Ludwig is an award-winning author whose work has been featured on Novel Journey, the Christian Authors Network, and The Christian Pulse. Her first novel, Where the Truth Lies, which she co-authored with Janelle Mowery, earned her the 2008 IWA Writer of the Year honors. This book was followed in 2009 by "I'll Be Home for Christmas," part of a Christmas anthology collection called Christmas Homecoming, also from Barbour Publishing.
In 2010, her first full-length historical novel Love Finds You in Calico, California earned Four Stars from the Romantic Times. Books two and three of Elizabeth's mystery series, Died in the Wool (Barbour Publishing) and Inn Plain Sight (Spyglass Lane), respectively, released in 2011.
Coming in 2012 is Elizabeth's newest historical series from Bethany House Publishers. No Safe Harbor, the first book in the Edge of Freedom Series, will release in October, with two more books following in 2013 and 2014.
Elizabeth is an accomplished speaker and teacher, and often attends conferences and seminars, where she lectures on editing for fiction writers, crafting effective novel proposals, and conducting successful editor/agent interviews. Her popular literary blog, The Borrowed Book, enjoyed a wide readership in its first full year, with more than 17,000 visitors in 2011. Along with her husband and two children, Elizabeth makes her home in the great state of Texas. To learn more about her work, visit her at www.elizabethludwig.com.

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers; Original edition (October 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0764210394
  • ISBN-13: 978-0764210396

No comments:

Post a Comment