Monday, June 17, 2019

Aaaargh!!! (TJ and the Time Stumblers) by Bill Myers

Book Description:  This six-book series centers around two 23rd century goofballs, Tuna and Herby, who travel back in time to study TJ Finkelstein for their history project. TJ will someday become a great leader who demonstrates honesty, integrity, thoughtfulness, self-sacrifice, respect for others—all traits she hones and grasps through her adventures in this series. Unfortunately, Tuna and Herby get stuck in TJ’s time (modern day), so she has to deal with their schemes while juggling the normal issues of a seventh grader who has moved to a new city, is trying to fit in, and is coping with her mother’s death and her family’s new life. 
In AAAARGH!!!, Tuna and Herby try to help TJ with a book report by getting the author to write it for her, but all three of them quickly see the consequences of cheating spiral out of control. Meanwhile, TJ’s cute neighbor and classmate Chad Steel is getting ready for a big surfing competition—and learning his own lesson about honesty.

My Thoughts:  Bill Myers is one my favorite children's authors.  He's funny and extremely talented in presenting a creative message to children through the written word.
TJ and the Time Stumblers are always  on the look out for a new adventure, sometimes just stumbling on one (hence the name Time Stumblers 😊
This is the second book in a six book series.  And is filled with some good issues that seventh graders (middle schoolers) might have to deal with). Bill Myers does a great job of bringing out the sadness of losing a parent without being sappy.
We're reading all the series this summer because it's such a fun and unique series.
Life lessons, faith filled fun and in this book truth/honesty.  

*Tyndale Publishing*

  • Age Range: 8 and up 
  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Tyndale Kids 
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1414334540
  • ISBN-13: 978-1414334547

No comments:

Post a Comment