Wednesday, December 10, 2014

The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle by Joanne Huist Smith

Book Description:  For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love.

After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children--especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season.

My Thoughts:  I left this book to read until right before Christmas because I heard that it was one of those reads that brings the Christmas spirit to our hearts. 

Most of us have heard of the Secret Santa (a person who gives presents anonymously)...I call this kind of giving Random Acts of Kindness.  
As I read this book I forgot that this is actually a nonfiction read that reads like a work of fiction.  
We lost my dad this year and even though we are all older this story really hit home with me.  The grief, the difference of not having your loved here for holidays, the memories...and yet, in this story the widow must be strong of her children with no idea of how to get through this holiday season, much less how to buy gifts for her three children.
This is truly a Christmas read from the heart and will touch the heart of the reader. It is truly wonderful help others when they are going through a difficult time, especially at a holiday like Christmas.
The 13th gift is heartwarming.
This book is beautiful and makes a nice gift!

*This book was provided for review by Waterbrook/Multnomah*

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Harmony (October 28, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553418556
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553418552

No comments:

Post a Comment