Thursday, May 8, 2014

Life Behind the Wall: Candy Bombers, Beetle Bunker, and Smuggler's Treasure Paperback by Robert Elmer

Book Description:  Cut off by the Iron Curtain This epic tale extends across generations and unfolds against the backdrop of a dangerous Cold War Berlin. This historically accurate, action-packed, three-books-in-one edition features three generations of resourceful teens living in the shadow of the Berlin Wall. Titles include: Candy Bombers: In spring 1948, teenage cousins Erich and Katarina are simply trying to survive in war-ravaged Berlin when the Soviets blockade the east side of the city, isolating its citizens---and starving them---behind the Iron Curtain. Beetle Bunker: In August 1961, Sabine discovers a forgotten underground bunker. Though she first uses it to escape her crowded home, she soon realizes her hideout could possibly take her family under the wall to West Berlin and freedom! Smuggler's Treasure: In spring 1989, life is good in West Germany, and even the Cold War seems to be thawing in the warmer weather. But as Liesl works on a class project about the history of the wall, she stumbles onto a startling secret no one will talk about.

My Thoughts:  Oh! Be.Still.My.Heart!  I could not believe my eyes when I saw this book . . . I was so excited. . . . like a kid on Christmas morning!  This is THREE books in one volume!  All three of the Life Behind the Wall books by Robert Elmer!  
I first read Candy Bombers about 10 years ago.  But I never got the next two books Beetle Bunker and Smuggler's Treasure.
I must tell you, that even though I am an adult, these are the best books ever!  
In Candy Bombers the reader is introduced to Erich and Katarina living in the city of Berlin after the Soviets blockade the east side of the city.
Then in Beetle Bunker, the reader meets Sabine who discovers an underground bunker.
And then in, Smuggler's Treasure the reader meets Liesl who lives in West Germany during the Cold War.
Sorry my book descriptions are short but I hope they are teasers for you (no spoilers) so that you will read this wonderful trilogy!
Yes, these books must be read in order because there are overlaps in each book from the previous.  And what a better way to read them in order than to have a 3-n-1 book!  
I love this trilogy!
*This book was provided for review by BookLook*
  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Paperback: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Zonderkidz; Revised edition (May 6, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 031074265X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310742654

No comments:

Post a Comment