Friday, July 13, 2012

A Season of Love by Amy Clipston

Book Description:  In the fifth and final novel of the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, three young women are about to change their lives. Lizzie Anne and Samuel have decided to get married, and Lindsay is about to be baptized in the Amish faith and is courting Matthew. While Katie Kauffman is happy for her friends who seem to have settled their futures, she is also finding herself something of a fifth wheel. When Lindsay's sister Jessica returns to Bird-in-Hand, she finds that Jake Miller has moved on with his life. He lost hope that Jessica would ever be satisfied to settle in rural Pennsylvania and takes comfort in becoming close friends with Katie. However, it's not an easy road as Jake is Mennonite and Katie has just been baptized in the Amish faith. Her father forbids them to see each other, adamant that his daughter marry an Amish man. A Season of Love is filled with surprising twists that will grip you to the very last words. As the stories of your favorite Amish community draw to a close, join Lindsay, her friends, and all the people of Bird-In-Hand for one last volume.

My Review:  I loved the Kaufman Amish Bakery Series by Amy Clipston.  I love this series SO much that as soon as I receive a book I have read it in two short hours.  It's the kind of read that I place myself in the book and I'm there.   
Katie is the kind.of.heroine I understand.  All my friends married waaay before I did and began having families while I was teaching children.  So, I can relate to Katie's fears and anxieties.  And then, there's the loneliness...when everyone is married and busy and you're still single...
Whether you're married or single, this is great Amish fiction!
I followed along from Book One.  I love the simple life, the wonderful smells of the baking and cooking and the friendships in Bird-In-Hand, Pennsylvania.
This is Katie and Jake's story.  Amish and Mennonite...when Katie vows at her church but Jake is actually Mennonite can they find love?  Especially when Katie's daad is adamant that she and Jake NOT see each other.  The trials and struggles!  Learning to trust God in ALL circumstances!
Each of the books in Kaufman Amish Bakery Series is a stand alone read; however, it is beneficial though not necessary to read them as a series.  Of course if you love Amish fiction and Amy Clipston's flowing way of writing you'll want to read them all!
*This book was provided for review by Zondervan*
  • Reading level: Ages 18 and up
  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Zondervan (June 19, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310319978
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310319979

No comments:

Post a Comment