Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Mine Is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs

Book Description:  Stepping from a battered coach on a rainy April eve, newly widowed Elisabeth Kerr must begin again, without husband or title, property or fortune. She is unafraid of work and gifted with a needle, but how will she stitch together the tattered remnants of her life? And who will mend her heart, torn asunder by betrayal and deception?

Elisabeth has not come to Selkirk alone. Her mother-in-law, Marjory Kerr, is a woman undone, having buried her husband, her sons, and any promise of grandchildren. Dependent upon a distant cousin with meager resources, Marjory dreads the future almost as much as she regrets the past. Yet joy still comes knocking, and hope is often found in unexpected places.
Then a worthy hero steps forward, rekindling a spark of hope. Will he risk his reputation to defend two women labeled as traitors to the Crown?
The heartrending journey of the Kerr women comes to a glorious finish in Mine Is the Night, a sparkling gem of redemption and restoration set in eighteenth-century Scotland.

My Review:  Liz Curtis Higgs is another author who writes a novel that is definitely worthy of reading.
In Mine Is the Night Marjory and Elizabeth are two women whose lives seem to loosely parallel the lives of Naomi and Ruth.  Marjory struggles with sudden and extreme poverty; whereas; Elizabeth struggles with trusting men and even trusting her own heart.  
The book is set in Scotland around 1746.  The characters are realistic and have very  But they (especially) the two women are Christians who pray and seek God's counsel to help them through their trials.  God's faithfulness is shown to all peoples in this wonderful read.
This is a historical read and therefore, a somewhat slow read but very interesting and factual.  Some Scottish words are used but this creates the story and does not detract from the story of Marjory and Elizabeth.  There is a glossary in the back to look up the meaning of these words-no bad/foul language!
Of course, this is a romantic read....great, sweet romance.  (well, like Boaz and Ruth).
This is the second and last book in this series.  But I didn't read the first book, Here Burns My Candle, and I wasn't lost.  This is truly a stand-alone read.
A well written and enjoyable read!  
*This book was provided by Waterbrook Press/Multnomah Publishing*
About the Author:
Liz Curtis Higgs is the author of 28 books with three million copies in print, including: her best-selling historical novels, Here Burns My Candle, Thorn in My Heart, Fair Is the Rose, Christy Award-winner Whence Came a Prince, Grace in Thine Eyes, a Christy Award finalist, and Here Burns My Candle, a RT Book Reviews Award finalist; My Heart’s in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland, An Armchair Travel Guide to Galloway; and her contemporary novels, Mixed Signals, a Rita Award finalist, and Bookends, a Christy Award finalist.

Visit the author's website. You’ll also find her on Facebook and Twitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment