Thursday, May 9, 2013

The Silence of Winter (The Discovery - A Lancaster County Saga, Book 2) by Wanda E. Brunsetter

Book Description:  Meredith anxiously waits to hear that Luke has arrived safely in Indiana for a new job opportunity. . .but Luke's call never comes. Instead, Meredith receives news that tears her heart to shreds and leaves her just barely living-and only for the sake of the little one growing within her. How will Meredith ever go on without Luke?

My Thoughts:  Not having read any books by Wanda E. Brunsetter I read the first book in this "series,"  Goodbye to Yesterday, book 1.  
I loved the first book and saw the second book, The Silence of Winter, book 2, and just had to find out what was happening in Meredith and Luke's marriage.  This is the second book in a six part series.
In book 1 Luke has left his wife not knowing she is pregnant with their first child.  He is at the bus station and is attacked by a madman and terribly hurt.  He is taken to the hospital where he is unconscious.  
Now, in book 2, Meredith has not heard from her beloved and feels anxious.  Book 2 is more about Meredith and some of her struggles.  Meredith and Luke are Amish so this includes a a lot about the Amish family unit with the help of neighbors and friends.
Meredith "feels" that Luke is not dead but fear grips her heart because he has not called her on the phone to let her know he arrived at his destination.
I am hooked on these small books.  I know that most people don't call this a series but it reminds me of those "old" newspaper stories that my grandmother said came out once a week.  She bought the newspaper just for the story.  This set is actually as saga (A long, involved story, account, or series of incidents) written in small (cute) books.
This IS one set of books that have to be read in order!  But you'll be hooked after book 1.
  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Barbour Books (March 1, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1620291436
  • ISBN-13: 978-1620291436

No comments:

Post a Comment